Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Reg plate configurations
Hi guys,

Just after a bit of advice. My car is ready for collection. So, Im wondering what am I likely to be given plate wise? Its an '81. And then what configuration should I be using for looking for a private plate?

Help appreciated.
Rich
Vin 5921
I think most 81's get a 'W' reg plate as in ABC 123W however I'm not an expert on number plates and if you get a nice person to deal with they may give you lots of options!
Chris
Membership Secretary DOC UK
2021's DeLorean event: http://www.deloreans.co.uk/forum/showthr...p?tid=6056
VIN#15768 Ex VIN#4584
W or X seem most common. ( all though I have seen A, B , C or even D regs supplied on occasions ) something like URR 123 X .

You can get some nice cheap Northern Irish ones that look nice. But you will need your first issue one anyway before you could change it.

beat me to it Chris !
Chris Parnham

Ex RHD Auto's etc.etc

Main Car.. Kia E Niro 4+
Toyota Vitz 4X4 1999 (the smallest 4X4 by far!)
Toyota RAV4 EV 1999.
1970 Jago Jeep.

DOC Club Historian 
Thanks for such quick replies guys. So the format is 3 letters, 3numbers 1 letter?

I cant fit any other format?
Vin 5921
If you are after a nice Northern Irish plate try Wilson's Auctions.

I got a nice 3 digit number plate last year its starts with WXI, downside its a 1991 plate but it was only £250 all fees included at that price.

Here is a link to their Wilsons website:

http://www.wilsonsauctions.com/numberplates
The DeLorean DMC-12 - MADE IN BELFAST, MADE TO LAST
There are a few registration numbers associated with early cars reg in NI, including:-

AXI , SIJ, RIA, XOI, WIA ...spring to mind, plus GUI they can often be bought for a few hundred £..
Chris Parnham

Ex RHD Auto's etc.etc

Main Car.. Kia E Niro 4+
Toyota Vitz 4X4 1999 (the smallest 4X4 by far!)
Toyota RAV4 EV 1999.
1970 Jago Jeep.

DOC Club Historian