Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Psyching Myself Up For A DIY Body Off Frame Restoration
Ok.... I've made a decision.

In 2016 (Not next year, as it's far too important year), I've decided I'm going to be brave and attempt a DIY body off restoration of the frame.

Next year, I'm going to invest in a 2 post ramp in my unit, specifically for the job. I also intend to gather all the new parts I will need for reassembling the frame, as well as any useful information from people who have been there. Basically come Autumn next year, I hope to have the frame ready to go away for restoration by Christmas, and then hopefully I will do it over the course of 2016, renewing anything suspect, refurbishing the appearance of the engine and gearbox (might even go the whole hog and go stage 1 at the same time, as I know my suspension and brakes are up to it)

The options for restoration of the frame are a challenge in themselves as everyone has a different opinion.

I'm no mechanic, but this is the only way this is going to get done.... I have priced up a drive in drive out service with Ed, and the price isn't out of the way, but at the end of the day it will be that and that only... My way I get to learn and attend to everything I've ever wanted to, including cleaning the bottom of the tub to a concourse standard and replace everything I feel needs changing. If someone else does it, corners can easily be cut without even being aware.

So I'm going to stock pile a shopping list.
I'm sure it will run into thousands, possibly tens of thousands. If I'm going to do this, I'm going to do it right...
So I'll need you all on board!

This isn't something I'd attempt without my own workshop facility, and with the 2 poster, I think it's easier than doing it with jacks and blocks.

And maybe I'll be able to get that pesky fuel sender cap to do up with the proper seal and not cross threaded!