Poll: 'New' DeLorean? Choose the statements you agree with
Yes, unconditionally.
Yes, for something new and daring in the spirit of DeLorean.
Yes, for a well-designed true successor of the DMC-12.
Maybe. But please don't whack a DMC badge on just anything.
No. But if someone could do it properly, I'm open minded.
No. Impossible!
Solstice meets DMC: Love it!
Solstice meets DMC: Loathe it!
[Show Results]

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
DE LOREAN DESIGN - Your thoughts and opinions wanted!
Hi All

I will be writing a piece for the DOC UK magazine DeLorean News, examining the design of the iconic DeLorean. A few of you will know that I am a qualified car designer and during my work have often incorporated the DeLorean and touched on some of its possible design values as reference or study. I'll be including historical comment on the original body design and styling decisions, related technical design, plus how the design is perceived today and how it might possibly influence future design thinking (especially if ever anyone follows through with the controversial idea of another DeLorean/DeLorean-badged/DeLorean-inspired automobile). We all love the car for different reasons, but I'm sure the design of it has made some sort of impact on each of us. This article had a lot of common interest so I'm hoping to gather research and guage a cross-section of opinions and ideas from its most dedicated followers.

So here are a few questions to think about. Some of them might seem a bit stupid, some repetitive, and some are placed deliberately to be questioned, some might have factual answers and some are purely subjective, so comment whatever you think.

What is it about DeLorean design that you like?
What do you see as the DeLorean's core design values, in terms of both physical design (what you see) and a less-quanitifiable design philosphy (what is subjective/feeling/opinion based)?
What to you defines the philosophy and 'identity'of the DeLorean brand?