The DeLorean Owners Club UK Forum

Full Version: Self-drive hire for my 18th b'day
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi everyone
This year I will be turning 18 in July Big Grin and I would love it if I could have the chance to drive a Delorean.

I know this is kind of a grey area for you guys as I've seen other people ask before but they were unknown to the club but most of you know me personally (car shows & meet-ups) would anyone be willing to do this

Also I am a fully qualified driver and own my own car (not a DMC unfortunately but close in colour)
Hi Will,
it depends what you mean by 'drive', I think insurance would be a big problem, plus driving a wide LHD car is not easy at first, especially for a newish driver.

However if a quick drive around the private road on the Keddleston estate, nearby me would do....then we could sort that out no problem and at no cost ........and in a car with the steering wheel on the correct side!

Mind you it is an auto....but forget your left foot and that's not an issue! Big Grin
(01 Feb 2019, 10:24)Chris P Wrote: [ -> ]Hi Will,
it depends what you mean by 'drive', I think insurance would be a big problem, plus driving a wide LHD car is not easy at first, especially for a newish driver.

However if a quick drive around the private road on the Keddleston estate, nearby me would do....then we could sort that out no problem and at no cost ........and in a car with the steering wheel on the correct side!

Mind you it is an auto....but forget your left foot and that's not an issue! Big Grin
True insurance might be a difficult one to tackle and with it being wide and LHD would take some getting used to, and the idea of the keddleston estate would be good to experience driving one without other drivers
I've pencilled you in my diary..........again! Wink

if you come up with a better offer, please let my know.